After working 7 years in one organization, I finally made the move and joined another team. I am still working for the same company, but different location, totally different project and different colleagues. It’s like a new company to me.

It’s always hard to move into a new environment and start to work with new team mates. I need to learn the new project, new technologies and new ways of doing things. The worst part may be that I have to rebuild my reputation. I need to earn my credit again as well as make new friends in the new organization. In the first several days, I really missed my old work place and my old friends.

However, after I thought it over, I considered the current situation a new challenge for me. As we all know, only challenges make one grow. If one always stays at the familiar spot and never goes out to the adventure land, he/she will never grow. It’s the response to the challenges that brings the best out us!

I did well at the first two weeks. Accomplished a bunch of good things and got some positive feedbacks from my manager and colleagues. However, soon, I met some bottlenecks. Things were not moving along as smoothly as I expected. I became a little frustrated. What happened to me?

When I took the regular walk after dinner by myself, I suddenly realized the reason of my frustration. I am too eager to prove myself in the new organization. I am expecting too much of myself. That violates the law of “Growth”. Rome cannot built in one day. It took me SEVEN years to earn my current position in the old organization and earn the trust of my colleagues. I cannot expect to do it in three weeks in the new organization. I should give myself some time.

As I pondered through my recent days, I realized that the one thing that made me feel a little uncomfortable was the culture difference between two organizations. That might be another commonly encountered issue for new comers. Two different organization usually have different ways of doing things, based on different value systems. The culture conflicts makes it harder to achieve the same output as I used to.

Honestly speaking, the new project I am involved now is a much more complicate project than my old one. There are a lot of things I can learn from it. When I first joined the team, I was pretty ambitious that I was going to make big improvements in the project. However, after I really dug into the details, I found things were much more profound that I used to imagine. Many talented people have been working on this project for more than 6 years and they all made great contributions. My co-workers are very smart people. They worked so hard for such a long time to achieve the status quo. I felt I was too naive to think that I could turn things around in a short period of time. That’s impossible and that very thought could get me into big trouble.

Having said so, I still think I can make positive impact to the project. Everyone should expect that from oneself.

What I concluded so far is this organization doesn’t lack of talents and technology expertise.  The only thing that hinders it from achieving bigger successes is the culture. Bringing in a new culture that can fully release everyone’s talent and energy will have much more significant, profound and lasting impact to this project and to the team, than merely fixing one or two technical issues.

Organizations don’t need heroes. One I-work-alone type of hero may discourage all others and damage the team morale. A facilitator who can glue every one together as a team, a cheerleader who can motivate others and a visionary who can point out the right directions will be much more helpful than a stand-alone hero.

I will talk about the culture changes I plan to drive and how I plan to implement those changes in a future post.I am still thinking of ambitious goals cause I believe that’s the only way to bring the best out of ourselves.

Any suggestions for me? They are very welcome. I will love to hear that in the comments.

